Sometime’s I’m Glad I Moved… Sometime’s I’m Not

1 Mar

New York State wants to make all bicyclists over the age of eighteen register their bikes, get license plates and insurance for their bikes, as well as have them inspected like cars.  http://www.wivb.com/dpp/news/politics/Anger-over-proposed-bike-license-plates?sms_ss=facebook&at_xt=4d6d909d6b2fccf9%2C0#viewSingle112289409

Um, NO.  This kind of stupid sh*t is one reason why I’m glad I’m not living in New York State anymore.  With gas prices predicted to hit five dollars a gallon by memorial day, more people should be looking to their bikes to save money, but this bill will only discourage people from using their bikes.  Not to mention the fact that biking is excellent exercise and in America we need exercise.  We’re all fat tubs of lard, and charging us to exercise is only going to make us fatter.

I’ll tell you something though, I haven’t ridden my bike in over ten years I think.  It’s in my parents garage still.   I don’t even know if it’s the right size for me still, but I’ll tell you – if I still lived in New York I’d be dusting that thing off, filling the deflated tires, and riding back and forth in front of the courthouse/police station/legislature’s office, whatever it took, just to make a point.  I’d be setting up some sort of bicycling protest!

So for that I’m glad I’m currently living in Georgia where they have sane laws… oh wait.  Sunday alcohol.  You can buy it during the week, you can drink it on Sundays, you can go to a restaurant or bar on Sunday and buy a glass of something for yourself, but you can’t buy it at the store?  That’s dumb.  Most Georgians are in favor of Sunday alcohol sales and yet it’s suddenly off the table, with state republicans claiming they have bigger issues to tackle.  Nevermind the fact that putting this to vote would favor these republican’s constituents and help them get reelected.  This kind of conservative crap I hate to listen to.  Think of the tax revenue they could have by selling alcohol every day of the week.

Honestly, sometimes I look at politicians and I wonder what they’re on.  It makes me think that Democracy looks good on paper and it works to an extent but is it really working?  Maybe The Hunger Games was right…

5 Responses to “Sometime’s I’m Glad I Moved… Sometime’s I’m Not”

  1. BB March 2, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    I respectfully disagree with your rant about the bikes. Not a day goes by that I don’t do one of the following:
    -sit back and stare, in shock and concern;
    -narrowly miss hitting a bike
    And by bike, I mean the thing with 2 wheels and pedals. Not a motorcycle bike.
    Every single day (not an exaggeration) I watch bikers blow through stop signs and RED lights in the city. Every day. Sometimes I have to screech to a halt and almost wreck my car in an effort to not hit the person that just biked through a red light. If I haven’t been the person to almost hit the biker, then I’m watching someone else who is almost hitting a biker. And if that isn’t the case, then I am simply watching the biker blow through the red light (it most usually is a red light) and hoping nothing happens. I have never seen a biker even bother to stop and look before going through the light, and it BOGGLES MY MIND. What if I hit you? You’ll tell me it’s my fault, because nobody pays attention to the people on bikes. What if a bike blows through a stop sign and plows in to the side of my car and damages it? They don’t have bike insurance, so my guess is I’m stuck either paying for the damage or suing to collect the cost to pay for the damage. Neither of which seems very fair.
    So, while I understand why you’re upset, I’m not sure the idea of making bikes get a license plate and insurance is in an effort to deter people from biking. It might be in an effort to make bikers take responsibility for their actions while on the road.
    I’m sure that there are bikers all over that do actually follow the rules of the road. But for as many that do follow the rules, there are dozens more that blow them off every day.

    OH, and since I’m in PA, not being able to buy alcohol at certain times is nothing. We can buy it between 12-5 on Sunday’s, but that’s a fairly recent development. Before you couldn’t purchase it at all on Sunday. Our liquour & beer sales are privatized here, so, that’s that. *shrug* Not being able to buy alcohol at 7pm on a Sunday has never bothered me. Do I really need it that badly? Not really. But that’s just me.

    • rosswife March 2, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      I think you might live in a bigger city than Buffalo. In Buffalo, Rochester, and I think most areas in the whole state aside from New York City and *maybe* Albany, there isn’t that kind of bike traffic to begin with. People use bikes for leisure mostly, not really as transportation so registering them, etc. doesn’t really make sense. You don’t see them on the main roads at all, really.

      The the buying booze on Sunday is really more about the principle of the thing. It’s time to get past “Sunday is the Lord’s day” in government/law. Separation of church and state and such. To most people, Sunday is just another day of the week, why not sell beer?

  2. BB March 2, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    That may be true, but I only have this issue with the bikers while in the city. I live in the suburbs, and it’s not an issue. But just because 90% of the bikers are in the suburbs and biking to their picnic or whatever doesn’t mean that it doesn’t remain to be an issue for those that are dealing with bikers that want to pay no mind to the rules of the road. Try asking those that drive through your nearby cities during the day and see what they say-I find it hard pressed that it’s only THIS city that has issues with bikers. What’s worse is that our bikers are constantly throwing fits, writing letters to the editor and creating huge articles to be written about them and how nobody pays attention to them, how they almost get hit daily, etc. I want to believe them and I want to feel bad and shake my fist at the drivers that are almost hitting those bikers. But when I see what I see, it becomes hard. Someone is ruining it for everybody. Hello, Kindergarten!

    I completely agree. I don’t know if that’s the reason we have limited hours on Sundays, but it probably is. It’s stupid. And it will never change because the State is making too much money off of their liquor stores and the beer store owners are making too much money with no competition. We have a grocery store that has started to sell beer in the store, but it comes with weird random rules (I have to bag my own beer after I pay…) and it costs a bajillion dollars because of the jacked up cost. Some competition you are, grocery store.

    • Alise March 2, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

      I have to say, DH bikes a lot because he’s training for a half iron man, so it forces him onto the streets. However, is is fully aware of all the rules and laws, and makes sure he abides by them. However, most people around here have no clue what they’re doing when it comes to riding a bike on the road, and we’re in a suburban town. It’s actually what has kept me from really riding my bike on the road. I’m just too afraid I’ll get in someones way.

      I don’t really come across too many crazy bikers as a driver though.

      As far as alcohol sales on sundays, CT doesn’t allow the sales of any type of wine, beer, liquor on Sundays, and the legistators are currently trying to bring it back. It’s kind of funny to go to stop and shop on Sundays where they have blanckets over their beer.

      • rosswife March 2, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

        Shhhh…the beer is sleeeping…

Leave a Reply

