WIJFR: The Autobiography of Santa Claus

17 Jan

The Autobiography of Santa Claus
Jeff Guinn
212 pages

In November I picked up a book at Barnes & Noble called The Christmas Chronicles by Jeff Guinn.  It’s an anthology of three books the author has written as though Santa Claus himself were writing.  I thought it would be a nice read with the holidays coming up, unfortunately, I only got halfway through the first novel by the time Christmas came and went and then with the move I didn’t have much time for reading.

Until today, when I decided to put off putting away more clothes by reading for a bit and I finally managed to finish the first novel, which, as I hoped it would be, was a lovely piece of Christmas literature.

Guinn, or rather, Claus, has a unique voice in his writing.  As I was reading it I thought this would be a great short novel to read to children at holiday time.  Guinn obviously did a lot of research in writing the novel.  Santa tells the story of himself starting when he was a young man and goes right through to today.  Along the way he meets lots of fascinating, historical characters who join him in his journey as his life transforms from that of a Bishop to that of the iconic Santa Claus.  Even Attila the Hun joins Nicholas in making toys for needy children!

The novel was very whimsical over all and was a very enjoyable read.  I’m looking forward to reading the other two novels, How Mrs. Claus Saved Christmas and The Great Santa Search, in due time.

Leave a Reply

