Why Bad Things Happen To Good People

2 Nov

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why bad things happen to good people.  Not because something bad happened to me (because really in comparison with a lot I have it rather good for the most part) but because I know a few different people who are going through a hard time right now.

I’m a moderately religious person.  I believe in God.  He’s done things for me when I’ve asked and in return I’ve thanked Him the best way I know how.  I’m not so “religious” that I go spouting Bible quotes in my Facebook statuses, nor do I typically talk about my beliefs or bring them up in my blog.  But to answer this question, I think I kind of need to talk about it.

Because I think more often than not, when something bad happens to a person, they ask “Why, God, did you let this happen to me?” even if they don’t believe in God.  Or, maybe they did believe before and they stop believing in God after a traumatic event because “Surely a good God would not have let this happen to me.”  It’s something that a lot of people struggle with.

But the truth is, I think, that if something bad happens to you, God did let it happen, and He let it happen for a reason.  Don’t shut Him out because of that.  Try not to dwell on the bad event itself, but think of why He might have let this happen to you.

Maybe you lost your job and have been having a harder time finding one.  Yes, the economy is terrible but why did you have to lose your job?  Maybe God wants you to spend more time with your family or do something to help other people for a bit.  Take some time and try that and then see how your job search goes.

Maybe something unexpected happened.  Maybe you thought something good and amazing was going to happen, but it never happened.  And now you’re beyond depressed about it.  I know it’s hard, but maybe it wasn’t meant to be right now.  Maybe if it had happened it wouldn’t have been all rainbows and roses like you thought.  Maybe the right time is in the future, waiting for you to catch up.

I know that sounds vague.

I’ve also been thinking about why good things happen to “bad” people.  I have a hard time believing that anyone is really bad in their core, deep down there are good people.  But maybe someone who lives on the wrong side of the law had something good happen to them; maybe they had a baby or won the lottery.  I think that’s God’s way of saying, “I’m here and I want you to turn your life around for me.”

Those are just some things I’ve been mulling over in my head recently.

Leave a Reply

