WIJFR: evermore

27 Oct

evermore
Alyson Noel
301 pages

I was browsing through the teen section the other night at Barnes and Noble, birthday gift card burning a hole in my pocket, looking for something easy and dark to read.  I came across some books that sounded interesting that were second and third in the “the immortals” series and then I remembered – I had ordered the first book from PaperBackSwap and it was sitting at home in my TBR (To Be Read) pile!  There was ten dollars in savings right there.

So the next evening I cracked it open around six pm.  Six hours or so later it was over.  I wasn’t overwhelmed but I wasn’t underwhelmed either.  I did order the second book on PBS and, since it’s on a wait list, it should mail in about four weeks meaning it will most likely get here in six.  I can wait.

The story is about a teenage girl, Ever, whose family died in a car crash; she was the only one to survive.  Since then she can see other people’s auras and see her dead sister and they have conversations and hang out together because her sister won’t cross over.  Meanwhile, Ever meets a new boy at school, Damen, who is immortal, which he makes very clear is not the same thing as being a vampire.  What’s more, he tells her, she’s an immortal, too!  Kismet.

Since evermore is a teenage paranormal romance novel, I have obviously have to compare it to Twilight and Twilight was much more believable.  Both are a great page turner though and I couldn’t put it down until I was done.

On a side note, it probably seems from my book reviews recently that I’m into fluff more than substance these days, but I don’t review every book I read.  Also, I tend to alternate something more serious with some fluffy like evermore.  I’m still trying to get through Eat, Pray, Love right now and I’m still stuck in the middle her section on India.  To be honest, I was going to give up on it, but I’ve decided to skim until it gets better.  So that review will be up when I finally get through.

Leave a Reply

