Birthday Recap

23 Oct

Thanks to all my Facebook buddies for the birthday wishes!  What started out as a rather crappy and unhappy day quickly turned around to one of the best birthdays I’ve had in a long time.

I got up and received a call from work about something I (accidentally) screwed up the day before, which was kind of sucky, and I was almost sucked into more Facebook drama, which I’m glad I choose to ignore or I would have been brooding over it all day.  (Side note: Vaccines don’t cause autism.)

I made myself some cinnamon buns for brunch, took a good shower, and hubs and I headed off to the Great Pumpkin Farm in Clarence where we purchased 107 lbs, or four, large pumpkins and three bales of hay (almost type hales of bay, haha) for the front porch.  While hubs produced a clever display with said items, I wrapped his mother’s birthday present because, what are the odds, we have the same birthday.  Then it was off to Rochester.

In Rochester we exchanged presents.  Holy cow, the in-laws spent too much on me.  But now I have a fancy Keurig machine that makes me delicious drinks to show for it and Barnes and Noble gift card that I can’t wait to buy books with.  We just set up the Keurig this afternoon.  I’ve been wanting one for a couple years and it’s amazing!  The machine came with a ton of K-Cups so I had a cup of Earl Grey and hubs is having a cup of coffee.  Yay!

Then we all headed out for dinner at Longhorn Steakhouse where I had the second best steak of my life, the first having come from Delmonico’s Steakhouse.  It was smothered in some sort of seasoned buttery goodness and the mashed potatoes were even better.  We had a coupon for a free appetizer and has some cheesy shrimpy crabby dip that was amazing on some seasoned tortilla chips.

After our delicious meal, we headed over to Eastview Mall, one of my favorite malls of all time, and headed straight for Teavana.  I got myself 2.5 oz of Peppermint Tea, which filled the tin!  It’s a very fluffy tea so you really get a lot of bang for your buck; it only cost about $5.00.  Chris got some Darjeeling tea for himself at a steeper price of about $19.00 for 2.3 oz.   Chris hasn’t had fresh tea in over two years, though we are still drinking the Chai he got before he left for Dominica, and I’m still drinking some Monkey Picked Oolong from a year ago.  They’re not supposed to last that long but they still taste fine to me.

Best part: We figured out how to use the Keurig to make the hot water for the Teavana tea.  Win-win!  Just made myself a pot of Peppermint.

The Yankee Candle store was right across the hall from Teavana so naturally I had to stop in there to smell the new Christmas scents.  There were a lot!  The Mistletoe and Fig didn’t smell nearly as good as I hoped it would, so I ended up just getting three votive of some new scents: Winter Wonderland, Peppermint Swirls, and White Christmas.  The Peppermint Swirls is one of my new favorites.   I guess I’m on a peppermint kick!

We left the mall after that and drove back to Buffalo.  It was a really great night.  Tonight we’re having dinner with my parents and (twin!) brother to celebrate our birthdays.  Should be another good time.

