Your Facebook Status Is Not Helping

6 Oct

It was yesterday I started to notice the strange Facebook statuses, “I like on the [insert non-customary place to have sex here].”  After some poking and prodding I found out it was supposed to be where you put your purse and, similar to last years statuses about your bra color, it’s supposed to raise awareness for Breast Cancer.  The theory is eventually it will hit the media and then the media will be talking about Breast Cancer more.

But what of that media story, which to the best of my knowledge has not happened yet?  Thousands of people see it and then some unknown number (probably significantly less than those who viewed it) are suddenly inspired to donate money based on your Facebook status of where you put your purse?  And just by making that your status, you are not doing anything yourself to help Breast Cancer Research, not directly anyway.

My original opinion stands: this is a dumb Facebook fad and it is an ineffective way to help out Breast Cancer research.  If you want to help out Breast Cancer research this month, because it is Breast Cancer Awareness Month after all, here are several things you can do yourself to really make a difference:

1.  Get yourself a mammogram if you’re over forty.

2.  Offer to pay for a mammograms for someone in your family who is over forty but has been putting it off.  The holidays are coming; it might be a weird gift but it’s thoughtful and shows you care.

3.  Donate directly to Susan G. Koman.

4.  Eat some Yoplait yogurt and send the pink lids back to them.

5.  Take part in a 5k or some other race that supports the cause.

6.  Hold a rally.

7.  Raise money to give mammograms to homeless and impoverished women.

8.  Buy some of those pink products that are shoved down our throats in stores every October.  Anything from pens to jewelry to espresso makers that are made pink and donate some profit to research.

9.  Take up a collection at work and donate the money.

10.  Volunteer at your local hospital.  Make cards for those who are sick.  Bake their families a casserole.  Etc.

And trust me, I will do as I say by having a little contest.  Enter your name in the comments section and on October 22 (or the day after) I’ll use that fancy Internet randomizer and donate to Roswell Park Cancer Institute in the winner’s name.  In the meantime I encourage you to choose something from my list of ten and do something yourself.

6 Responses to “Your Facebook Status Is Not Helping”

  1. jbean October 6, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    totally agree. the fb statuses are annoying and idiotic and do nothing for the actual cause.

  2. Margot October 6, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    So true! This doesn’t do anything at all, doesn’t help, doesn’t raise awareness, and actually detracts from the important issues in woman’s healthcare today.

    instead of stupid status updates, how about challenging the new mammogram restrictions? Or donating money or time?

    Also, the number one (disease) killer of women isn’t breast cancer. It’s not even the worst form of cancer. Women need to be made more aware of other types of cancer (NHL, Leukemia) that are also dangerous and need constant vigilance to be caught early.

  3. Alise October 7, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Thank you for sharing my view!

  4. Lindsay October 8, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Interesting. For the most part I agree with you. I would be shocked if the media actually reported on the facebook thing (I think they did last year, but why would they care about repeating old news?), and even if they did I can’t imagine it would spur many people to actually do something meaningful. However, I did change my facebook status for a few days and pass on the message to a few friends because of the person who sent it to me.

    A friend of mine from Canada has actually battled with cancer herself, and she frequently participates in walks/runs, rallies, etc. in addition to passing on information about such things to spread awareness. Whenever she contacts me, I am happy to sponsor her run or pass on her message. In part it’s to support breast cancer research (when it’s something like donating that’s actually helpful), but mostly it’s to show my support for her.

    Ultimately, I don’t think the facebook thing is doing any harm so why not play along. However, I agree that there are far more important things people can do to actually help, so I’m really happy to see your helpful list of suggestions.

  5. Nobody October 12, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    wow it;s amazing that the comment i left never got posted. perhaps it was because it proved you wrong?

    • rosswife October 12, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

      I’m not sure what comment you’re referring to. I typically only approve comments from real people who have something to say about what I posted. Since your comment says “Nobody” and the e-mail address isn’t real, it went into my spam blocker. I only found this one because I looked in that folder. For future reference, I ONLY approve comments from real people.

      (Edited for grammar.)

Leave a Reply

