WIJFR: South of Broad

11 Sep

South of Broad
Pat Conroy
514 pages

This is the first novel by Pat Conroy I’ve ever read and I think I might pick up a second someday, although I’m not running out the store to get one right this instant.

The story takes place in Charleston and spans in time from the 1960s to 1990s.  It’s a story about good friends, the best you can have, who work together save one of their own and in the process discover something very dark about two of them who have to deal with demons from their past.  I know that sounds pretty vague, but I don’t want to give it away!

I can’t stress enough what good friends the main characters are.  They would do literally anything for each other and they put themselves in the face of danger more than once to save the life of one of their own.  It actually saddens me that I’ll probably never have a friend like these friends were.  Sometimes when I’m reading a book I read reviews other people have written about it.  One review I read claimed she couldn’t understand why they were friends when they hated each other so much – but that simply isn’t true.  They loved each other to the core, but their dialogue is heavy with sarcasm.  That reader was just confused.

The story deals very well with sexism, racism, sexual orientation-ism, and classism.  This is the first time I’ve read a novel dealing with racism that didn’t sound forced or like a made-for-TV script, which was refreshing.

Anyway, I’m glad to finally be done with this so I can move on to my next read – The Hunger Games!  I have three days off from work so I’m hoping to get a lot of reading (any maybe baking!) done.

Leave a Reply

