CHRISTMAS!!!

10 Sep

Yes, the title of this blog post is being screamed at you.  Why?  Because I LOVE CHRISTMAS!!!1!   It’s my most favorite time of the year, and personally I think I balance it pretty well.  I celebrate Christmas for the religious aspect, but I also go nuts for the whimsical aspect.  But it really bothers me when people who ascribe no religion or consider themselves Atheist celebrate Christmas.  I get that the holiday is (overly) commercialized and shoved down everyone and their brother’s throats, but the fact remains that Christmas is meant to celebrate the birth of Christ, and if you don’t believe he existed, why would to celebrate his birthday?

That’s the end of my mini-rant.  Anyway, I work at Hallmark and ornaments came out in July.  This year there is a small series with Peanut characters.  A new one comes out every month and when you have them all, they connect.  Adorable!  Today Linus came out:

When it’s all done, this is what you get:

Very cute!  My favorite part of Christmas at Hallmark are the techno plushes that dance and around play music.  Here’s a YouTube video of 2006’s (not my video) in case you have no idea what I’m talking about:

Anyway, I have about four or five of them from previous years, but last year instead of the snowman and penguins like they usually do they did a Snoopy playing a piano.  This year it’s Frosty the Snowman (like from the vintage cartoon).  I’m sure he’s nice, I haven’t seen him yet in person, but I really miss that snowman and penguin!  I thought for sure they were going to do one this year, someone had even pointed out a YouTube video to me that was supposed to be this years, but I haven’t seen it in any of the literature that’s arrived to the store.  It looks like it’s just going to be Frosty.  Oh well, hopefully next year…

Leave a Reply

