New Project: Knitting

20 Aug

I had this brilliant idea last night to save money on Christmas presents by making them, starting with a scarf for my mother-in-law.  I’ve never knitted before, but I found an easy pattern online and bought the yarn/needles this afternoon.  Fifteen dollars later I haven’t really saved any money, but if I manage to pull it off it’s a pretty thoughtful, personal gift I think.

We’ll see if this turns into anything:

First inch and a half of the scarf... 68.5 inches to go!

One Response to “New Project: Knitting”

  1. Margot August 21, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    I am a very proficient knitter and crocheter, and I would suggest crocheting for presents, unless you want to use a specific knitting stitch. Crocheting is MUCH MUCH faster and less problematic: if you want to make a hat/round piece with knitting, you need special round needles (these completely suck). For crocheting, all you need is the stuff you already have.

    It can be kind of an expensive hobby, so a good thing to do is join the local knitter’s guild ( I belong to the one in ROC) or a knitting online community for free patterns and discounted yarn.

    Good luck on your project!

Leave a Reply

