Lisbeth Salander is too hardcore for dimples.

18 Aug

So if you read my last book review you might have an inkling that I really enjoyed The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.  In reality, the series is bordering on obsession with me.  We just watched the original version of the movie before Chris left and it was really good.  I thought the actress who portrayed Lisbeth was pretty dead on.  So when there were rumors that they were choosing Kristin Stewart for the American version, I kind of thought….. Ew.

Don’t get me wrong, I love all that Twilight goodness and she’s done better acting work in the past (In The Land of Women, Panic Room) and I can sort of see her as Lisbeth… but… ew.  I don’t think she could pull it off.  I would have seen the movie anyway, don’t get me wrong, but it just wouldn’t be right.

For what it’s worth, I think the original version was very well done and I think that should suffice all around.  Why American movie makers feel the need to remake everything these days is beyond me….  But I digress.

This is who they have chosen as Lisbeth for the American version; her name is Rooney Mara.

From the e-mail MTV sent me about the movie

I’ve never heard of her, which is good because I was hoping they would pick an unknown… but look at her!  She looks nothing like Lisbeth.  Her features are soft and she looks innocent.  She reminds me of Abigail Breslin, who would have been the opposite person to choose for this role.  She has dimples!  Lisbeth Salander is too hardcore for dimples.

Look at that long chestnut hair; it’s beautiful, but I hope this chick is okay with them chopping it all off and dyeing the remains black.  Even still, her nose is all wrong.  Or maybe it’s her eyes.  I can’t decide what’s off.  Nothing personal against Mara, I’m sure she’s a talented actress and all that, but I don’t think they choose the right actress for the part.  I hope I’m proved wrong!

Leave a Reply

