You don’t know what itchy is.

16 Aug

Seriously, you don’t.  About three years ago I “came down with” and was diagnosed with eczema.  When I first had it I didn’t know what was going on, but let me tell you my legs were gross looking.  I went to a crappy dermatologist who put me on prednisone for two weeks, which was amazing because by the end of that I wasn’t itchy anymore!  But, as with all steroids, it had to come to an end and the itch came back.  The solution was 2.5% hydrocortisone in Cetaphil lotion.  It kept it at bay.

If you remember, when I was in the Bahamas I thought I needed a refill.  Turns out it could have waited, but because the pharmacy there was primitive, or something, they couldn’t figure out how to mix it together themselves.  I mixed it together myself Saturday and it’s not working.  It’s getting worse!

I think it’s partly psychological because husband is away for seven weeks and I miss him.  When I miss him my body makes physical symptoms in an attempt to bring him back.  I wish it wouldn’t do that, because now I’m super ITCHY.  And it burns.  And I wouldn’t wish this on my worst enemy.

I picked up some Curel anti-eczema stuff and it seems to work for about an hour or so but then I have to reapply.  I need a more permanent solution, but so far have come up with nothing.  I can’t ignore it like my cavity that I can’t get treated because we don’t have dental because NYS won’t let you get dental on your own, you can only get it through an employer.  Another reason to hate NYS.  But I digress; I’m itchy and there is no cure.  And anyone who has eczema knows, it’s not a normal itch.  When you scratch it only makes it itch more; you feel no relief.

2 Responses to “You don’t know what itchy is.”

  1. Salt August 16, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Oh noooo I’m so sorry you are going through this. 😦
    Have you tried Benadryl? The only downside to that for me is that it makes me sleepy, but it helps a lot when I have itching related to an allergic reaction.

    Obviously I’m not a medical professional, but I wish I had more advice to offer you! I hope you feel better soon!

  2. rosswife August 16, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    I took benadryl once for hives and it knocked me out for the whole day! That was the best nap I ever took…

Leave a Reply

