Oh Snap, It’s August!

5 Aug

I haven’t updated since July 30th – where did the time go?  Oh yeah, I’m packing.  We’re out of here in under 48 hours and I can’t wait.  The other day Chris asked me if I would miss Miami and my answer was a definite, “Not at all.”  I’m not a hot weather, beach type person so that part of the city doesn’t appeal to me.  There is no real art here (as we discovered a few weeks ago) and everything else is the same as any other city.  It just doesn’t do it for me.

BUT – if you are going to be in Miami, there is one place you absolutely must go.  The Big Cheese.  They are  a small, locally owned restaurant where people dress normal to eat there.  That’s one of the things I don’t like about Miami – I felt  under dressed almost everywhere we went.  I’m a t-shirt and jeans kind of gal and in Buffalo I fit right in.  But here the young women (and middle-aged and old women!) dress up just to go to the mall.  Even when I try to dress it up, it’s the wrong kind of dressed up; I wore a flowered skirt and pinkish-orangeish top to lunch yesterday at a fancier restaurant in Bal Harbour.  But they weren’t designer and I wasn’t wearing stilettos.  I felt quite of out of place.

But I digress.  The Big Cheese is comfortable.  People who go there are in jeans, shorts, flip-flops, t-shirts and I love it!  And the menu is diverse and delicious.  To start, you get garlic rolls with every order – and are they amazing.  The rolls themselves are soft and chewy and taste like roll crack.  But then they coat the top with a half inch thick mixture of melted butter, oil and chopped garlic.  You could keep the Cullens away for weeks with all that garlic!  It burns in a good way (but maybe that’s because I’m part vampire….)

Some other things I love there: the pink sauce, which is a combination of marinara (with chunky tomatoes!) and creamy alfredo sauce.  It’s delicious and much more friendly to my lactose intolerant belly than just alfredo straight up.  The hot ham and cheese sub is also delicious.  Sure, it doesn’t sound like much, but it comes with an Italian dipping sauce that is just to die for.  Sweet and tangy, it compliments the ham and cheese great.

Something to skip: the calamari.  I don’t know what the deal with that stuff is, but it’s shaped and of the same size as onion rings.  Not the tiny pieces normal calamari comes as.  It was chewy in a bad way and the fried breading wasn’t that good either.

So the Big Cheese is something I’ll miss about Miami, but that’s about it.  Saturday morning we’re leaving and driving 8.5 hours (not counting any bathroom/meal stops) to Savannah.  Then another 8.5 hours to Nashville.  Then about 6.5 hours to Columbus and then 5 or 6 hours the last day to our final destination – Buffalo.  I start work again the 16th!  See you on the flip side!

One Response to “Oh Snap, It’s August!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some Culture in ATL « Rosswife's Blog - February 7, 2011

    […] When we lived in Miami I decided I wanted to see some of the city while we were there because I couldn’t picture myself ever going back for a vacation.  That resulted in our unfortunate trip to an art museum.  I still don’t care if I ever drive through Miami again, though I do miss our favorite restaurant, The Big Cheese. […]

Leave a Reply

