Betty Crocker is a genius… again.

30 Jul

“They look perfect… absolutely freakin’ perfect.”  Those are the words my husband said as he looked at this tray of chocolate chip cookies from scratch that I baked today.  Boy did those words make me happy because if there’s one thing a Domestic Goddess should be able to do, it’s bake amazing homemade cookies.

The picture is not high quality because it was taken with the camera on my laptop.

I had bought the ingredients last week to make them and I finally got around to it today.  They were so easy to mix up (although my $7 Target hand mixer was struggling a bit) and the dough tasted amazing, so I had high hopes the final product would be amazing.

The verdict: they’re pretty good!  The texture was just right, too.  It’s definitely a cookie I’ll be proud to serve my kid’s friends someday.  Here’s the recipe, modified from Betty Crocker:

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

1 large egg

2 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup mini chocolate chips

1.  Heat oven to 375.

2.  Mix sugars, butter, vanilla, egg.  Stir in flour, baking soda, salt.  Stir in chocolate chips.

3.  Bake 9 minutes, cool 1 to 2 before removing from pan.

Yield: 44 plus the dough I licked off the spatula.

Leave a Reply

