WIJFR: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

25 Jul

Let me first start by saying that I have never been very good at writing book reports or reviews, but with my recently acquired Nook somehow enabling me to read at record speed, I thought I would share some of the books I read with you all.

The first book I started reading was actually Little Women.  I thought I had read the book before, but as I read it, it seemed mostly unfamiliar.  I might have read some sort of children’s abridged version over a decade ago.  My review in a sentence:  Sweet, charming and still relevant for young ladies today though it had a slow ending that I skimmed through a bit.

Simultaneously my husband and I read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (TGWTDT) together.  Most of our free time this week found us sprawled on the couch together reading with the question, “What page are you on?” thrown around a lot.  Our main reason for choosing this book to start with was its popularity.  People have been eating this trilogy up and we wanted to see what the fuss was about.  I probably wouldn’t have picked the book up otherwise and in hindsight, that would have been sad because it turned out to be a very good book and something that I think is going to be on a list of the best books of the century someday.

I felt TGWTDT started off a bit slowly and the story jumped around a lot at the beginning.  It wasn’t until the various characters and different story lines merged together that I found the book really enjoyable to read.  The slow start was balanced out by a fast paced and succinct ending, which I enjoyed.

My bare bones summary:  The main character, Blomkvist, was indicted for libel.  While laying low he is hired by wealthy Vagner to investigate a family murder that has remained unsolved for decades.  Salander joins him when he needs a research assistant and the work together from that point on and solve the mystery together.  A lot of coffee is consumed in this novel.

The only other flaw I find with the book is the sheer number of characters.  It’s a murder mystery with a huge number of possible suspects.  The size of the Vagner family is huge and I had to keeping asking my husband to remind who was who.

What I really enjoyed about the book was the excitement.  Every time Blomkivst or Salander figured something out it was a complete surprise.  I would elaborate, but I don’t want to give anything away!

Anyway, all and all it was a really great book that I’m glad I decided to read.  I have already started reading the second book in the trilogy – The Girl Who Played With Fire.  I’m forty pages in and so far it’s a much smoother, faster start than the previous book.  So I’m off to go read!

One Response to “WIJFR: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIJFR: The Millennium Trilogy « Rosswife's Blog - August 25, 2010

    […] Aug You’ll recall how excited I was to buy my Nook and start reading the Millennium Trilogy.  Well last night, just shy of 2 a.m., I finished the trilogy.  My feelings were mixed when I […]

Leave a Reply

