Christmas Shopping

24 Jul

What, you say?  It’s only July?  Pish-posh, that’s the best time to shop!  No crowds, no advertising campaigns shoving gift ideas down your throat, no inflated prices that go “on sale” and my favorite… QVC’s Christmas in July marathon.  It’s half over now and I’ve already secured four gifts for my mother, grandmother, mother-in-law, and step-grandmother-in-law.  Score!  I won’t tell you what the gifts are though, in case one of them somehow becomes computer literate.

I’ve also decided what to get Mittens and possibly my brother, too.  Gotta start thinking ahead of time!

Anyway, no real point to this post except that there are only FIVE MONTHS* left until Christmas.  Woohoo!

Celebrate Christmas in July by building a snowman on the beach! (via Google Images)

It’s no secret that I love Christmas.  I start getting excited around this time of the year and it only gets worse as the year winds down.  Last year I was working at Hallmark from May through Christmas.  The ornaments came out in July and more Christmas stuff started arriving in October and each week got more and more festive – perfect!  This year I’ll be working again from August until the end of November-ish (depending on how fast the STEP is graded).  This year’s techno-plus is especially adorable!

I got nuts waiting for the local radio stations to start playing Christmas music.  While most of society is moaning and groaning that the holiday’s start earlier and earlier, I’m relishing in it.  The bright colors, the festive moods, the spirit of giving, it’s all good stuff to me.  I don’t see why people need to complain about how early the holidays start every year.  If you focus on the real meaning of Christmas, well, that should be celebrated all year round – not just the month of December.

Happy Christmas in July, everyone!

* Everyone on QVC has been talking about how Christmas in July marks the halfway point until Christmas.  And logically you would think six months to go, but if you count it out, it’s only five.  People make this mistake all the time, but it makes me wonder, why not Christmas in June?  Probably because those crotchety people would really riot if Christmas started that early.

One Response to “Christmas Shopping”

  1. Alise July 25, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    that reminds me of when I was little, and my family was spending our vacation at the beach in new jersey…and there was a guy wearing a santa suit passing out candy canes, and he kept saying “ho ho ho, merry christmas in july!”

Leave a Reply

