Baby Name Criteria

15 Jul

I am NOT pregnant.  We are NOT trying.  But I’ve read a lot of chat recently about baby names and I have baby fever… bad.  Looking at cute babies make my uterus twinge.  Looking at onesies at Target make my ovaries do the cha-cha.

Like this one. The pink one behind it had strawberries and said "Strawberry Fields Forever." Too cute.

I may or may not have bought four baby items from the Target dollar bins that had pandas on them because after about 100 cumulative hours of research on the Babies R Us website over the past year, I know how hard it is to come across baby bedding and accessories that have pandas on them.  I have yet to find a panda bedding set.  But I digress.

Baby names.  Any and all potential baby names in the future will be carefully screened for the following:

  1. We cannot conceive of any reason why the child would be teased for the name.  Certain vintage names such as Edna and Bertha are out.  Others are being considered.  Calvin is becoming more popular and I really love it because it was my Grandpa’s name.
  2. Initials will not spell out strange or offense words.  I don’t know why more parents don’t figure this out.  It should be easy considering our last initial is “H.”  I can’t think of an offensive three letter word ending in “H.”  If you know of one, please tell me.
  3. Names must sound professional but not be stuck-up.  It could have a cute nick-name, though.  If my son/daughter decides to be a lawyer, doctor, or something equally professional I don’t want them stuck with something cutesy like Sadie.  Anything ending in a hard e sound will most likely be rejected.  Equally important, no pretentious names like Preston.
  4. Historic names are a plus, but John is absolutely off limits.  There is a pact in my husband’s family that no one ever be named John.  Those would be big shoes to fill, if you know our last name.  Yes, they are related.  This is also why I feel I have married up.
  5. Strange celebrity names are a no-no.  No Apple or Moonbeam for us.  My husband is against using any names that are also from Twilight, which I’m fine with, except Isabella has strong Italian roots and we both liked it before Twilight become the in thing.

How about you?  Do you have names picked out even if you aren’t even close to trying to conceive?  Do you have criteria in naming your future children?

3 Responses to “Baby Name Criteria”

  1. Alise July 16, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I really want to use the name Wallace some how, but I don’t want our son to be called Wally haha. It’s a family name…as in Robert Wallace aka Braveheart. yeah, I also feel like I’ve married up haha. Badass!

  2. Nora July 16, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    It took me waaaayyyyy to long to figure out why John was off the table in your H’s family. And then I lol’d.

  3. Australian Web Host July 23, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    I really want to use the name Wallace some how, but I don’t want our son to be called Wally haha. It’s a family name…as in Robert Wallace aka Braveheart. yeah, I also feel like I’ve married up haha. Badass!
    +1

Leave a Reply

