Monday Shred Update

14 Jun

This is my last Shred Update because I officially end this Friday and I am finally starting to see the results I wanted!  You all know how frustrated I was that I hadn’t seen any weight loss.  Well, Saturday night I had a dream that I lost five pounds, so Sunday morning I got on the scale and I had lost five pounds!  Dreams really do come true, people.

If I hadn’t seen any weight loss by day 30 I’m sure I would have given up, but now I’m positive I will keep going to some extent.  I probably won’t do it every day but at least four to five times a week I’ll be doing it.  To shake it up I’m planning on doing level one for a day, level two for a day, level three for a day, then repeating.

I need to take moment to give myself a little pat on the back.  I have never really exercised in my life.  I barely participated in high school gym and I’ve never going to a gym to use a treadmill or an elliptical.  The fact that I got myself to do this DVD for 30 days is a huge accomplishment for me.  I couldn’t have done it without my friends on The Nest message boards either, so I have to thank them for doing it with me and creating a priceless support group.

So in summary the 30 Day Shred has done a few significant things for me:

  1. It has proven to me that I can work out every day and that I can have a commitment to exercise.  Exercise will not make me die.
  2. It has strengthened and created muscle unlike I’ve ever had before.
  3. It has helped me lose a few pounds.
  4. It has made me feel healthier overall and more confident.  I think it might also be having a positive effect on my various anxiety disorders.
  5. It has essentially erased my hatred for Jillian.  I couldn’t stand her a month ago.  I hated the way she treated The Biggest Loser contestants, but she’s perfectly cheery fine on the DVD and I’ve even started watching her show, Losing It With Jillian, which has made me like her even more.  Something I never thought would happen.  I’m very tempted to buy her Yoga Meltdown DVD now.
Leave a Reply

