Ross Update

11 Jun

A few months ago I was really excited that Chris an I had a plan through the holidays.  Well, that didn’t end up working out like I thought it would and plans changed.  Now our tentative plans have changed again!  We thought we were most likely going to Atlanta Georgia for his rotations starting this winter, but when Chris talked to an advisor today at the school he was told the better place for him to be in Janesville, Wisconsin.

WISCONSIN !?

I don’t know anything about Wisconsin, I couldn’t even locate it on a map (what, fifth grade geography was a long time ago!)  So we’ve been researching and here’s what we know:

  • There are “only” two Taco Bells.
  • The closest Apple Store and Barnes and Noble is over an hour away.  Sadface.
  • There was one review on Google about the hospital there where a former patient said he felt like they used him as a “geiny pig.”  I don’t know if I trust the review because of the reviewer’s inability to spell guinea.  Any other reviews I have found have been somewhat positive.

And that’s about it.  I’m trying to find out what the commutes are like.  What is the job market like?  How are the schools?  So far I can’t find much on that.  Of course, I can research all I want but I will inevitably end up looking for housing (by which I mean as soon as I finish this post), which will by probably jinx it.  Knowing Ross, our plans could change five times between now and then.

3 Responses to “Ross Update”

  1. Alise June 12, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Good luck making your decision! What other fast food is there? It’s only two Taco Bell’s in the whole state, or the area? I think that would help me with my choice…

  2. Grace June 14, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    “Of course, I can research all I want but I will inevitably end up looking for housing (by which I mean as soon as I finish this post), which will by probably jinx it.”

    Hahaha! This is me exactly. I have researched Chicago, Wisconsin, Saginaw, Atlanta, Louisiana and now Baltimore/DC/NYC rotations. I think I need a full-time job to distract me from all of this silly research, yet how can I get a job when I don’t know where we’ll be in six months?! It’s madness!

  3. Anna June 15, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    Sergiy and I spent the summer in Wisconsin last year. While it’s quite rural, it’s also gorgeous. There’s a great outdoors community there. The canoeing there is amazing. But if you’re not into that, Janesville is also decently close enough to both Chicago and Milwaukee.

    Hope Miami is treating you well. I’m clearly doing a great job studying for the anatomy practical I have.

Leave a Reply

