Recipe Sunday Returns!

16 May

Are you excited?  I know I am.  I made this recipe earlier in the week and I’ve been chomping at the bit to post!

I came across this recipe on the blog She’s Becoming Doughmesstic that was posted on The Nest message boards.  I surfing around her blog, which she updates with pictures of cakes she bakes for people.  It’s all very delicious looking and when I came across the recipe, it sounded too good to be true.

COOKIE DOUGH CUPCAKES

  • 1 package Pillsbury Cookie Dough, Take & Bake Style
  • 1 Devils Food Cake Mix
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 1/3 cup Water
  • 3 eggs
  1. Place the Cookie Dough in the freezer for at least 2-3 hours, so that it is completely frozen.
  2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Prepare the cake mix using the above ingredients, not what it says on the box.  When I did this it made a really thin batter, but as is my way I just trucked along and they turned out great in the end!
  4. Line 24 muffin cups with liners, then add the cake mix evenly to each cup.  I used a 1/8 cup measuring cup to scoop out the batter because it was so thin.  It worked much better for me than just using a regular spoon.
  5. Place on frozen cookie on the top of each cup, no need to push down.
  6. Bake for 15-16 minutes.  The might not look completely done when you pull them out, but again, that’s okay.
  7. Allow to cool, then top with your favorite icing.  I used vanilla and I think the combination worked out great.  Next time I’ll probably try a cream cheese frosting, and I think some sort of peanut butter icing (there must be a recipe out there somewhere!) would work really well on this, too.
  8. Store in the fridge.  Chris tried one freshly iced, still a bit warm and he didn’t care for it.  But if you store it in the fridge the cookie dough center gets harder like in a cookie dough ice cream.  I also like how the frosting stays firm when stored in the fridge.

Some pictures to help whet your appetite:

Just set the frozen dough on top, no need to push it down. The cupcake will expand around it.

See? The cookie dough is now a hidden surprise in the middle of the cupcake.

I'm sorry it's blurry. Anyway, as they cooked they formed little dents over the cookie dough. No biggie. I filled the dents in with extra icing. YUM!

Ta-da! Try to have some will-power and not eat three at time.

This is definitely the best dessert I ever made myself.  I gave some to some neighbors and friends and they seemed to really enjoy them too.  I think it’s a great way to kick up a regular cup cake.  I’m wracking my brain to come up with a rendition all by myself.

See the recipe again at She’s Becoming Doughmesstic: http://www.doughmesstic.net/2009/06/15/cookie-dough-cupcakes-not-kidding/#ixzz0o7VXN4Kd

Leave a Reply

