Country White Bread

21 Mar

Have you ever eaten at The Roadhouse?  Before they shut down a ton of locations?  They had the best yeast rolls ever.  Hands down the best bread I ever put in my mouth.  The following tastes really similar to that, which I found out by accident but was really happy to discover!

Ever since I made bread the first time I’ve been itching to try a different recipe to see what I could come up with.  I have a hard time with yeast and getting it to work so my breads always come out dense, but they taste great!  I found this recipe on allrecipes.com and altered it a bit because there are only two of us.  I cut it in half so the following makes one loaf, or you can double it to make two loaves.

My yummy bread on our ugly stove

1 package active dry yeast

1 cup very warm water

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 egg, beaten

2 tbsp veggie oil

3 1/4 cups flour (I used 3)

  • In mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in water (evidently this takes more than 5 minutes)
  • Add sugar, salt, eggs, oil
  • Add 1/2 of your flour, beat until smooth
  • Add remaining flour to make soft dough
  • Turn onto floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic
  • Place in greased bowl, turning once to grease the top
  • Cover and let rise in warm place until twice original size
  • Punch dough down
  • Shape into loaf (or two if you doubled the ingredients).  Place in loaf pan(s).  Cover and let rise until twice size again
  • Bake 375 for 25-30 minutes, until golden brown.  (I baked 30 and it was a little undercooked in the middle.  I don’t know if that’s because I had yeast problems or if it should actually go more like 40 minutes).
  • Remove from pan, cool on wire rack, then enjoy!
Leave a Reply

