Here Comes Peter Cottontail…

15 Mar

So one of the first things I loved about my husband when I met him was his religion.  It’s a bit of a cute story actually,

In January 2006 I was getting over a really bad break-up when a friend of mine at UofR decided to take me out on a Friday night to try to distract me.  She took me to the AEPi Fraternity, which is a Jewish fraternity.  That’s where I met Chris, who wore glasses and was a little sloppy, and I probably wouldn’t have given him a second look if I hadn’t gone back the next night when I noticed, and of course had to point out, that he was wearing the exact.same.shirt. as the night before!  Conversation ensued and I found out we’re both ELCA Lutherans.  This was a huge deal to both of us and for the first time I thought, “Maybe I should marry this guy…” I thought that less than 24 hours after meeting him!

A couple dates later we learned that we both share the same morals, political views (except for gun laws), and beliefs on raising children.  It’s a big deal to have the same ideas about raising children, in my opinion.  That second or third date or whatever it was, I think we both knew we were stuck with each other for life.  If ever there was a couple that were made for each other and destined to meet, it’s us.  I think that really took the pressure off our “courtship.”  We relaxed and enjoyed our relationship until he proposed in the summer of 2008 and then left for Medical School.  That’s when the stressors hit of us being apart and me trying to plan a wedding without him.  But now we’re married and here we are!

Now for the real point of my post: EASTER is coming.  Even though it’s not celebrated with nearly as much pomp and circumstance as Christmas, it really is the more important of the two holidays.  Now that I’m married and we’re on our own, I’m faced with having to put on a holiday (albeit just for two people) all by myself for the first time.  I don’t know how!

From marthastewart.com. If I had the money and resources, this is what I would want our Easter to look like. Nothing even close to this is going to happen.

After kvetching on Facebook about how I’m going to miss Fastnachts this year (*uber sad face*) and celebrating with my family, a good friend of mine who is also recently married told me that we would have to start our own traditions.  She was completely right, but I don’t know how to do that here on Grand Bahama Island.  I don’t have any Easter decorations or things to dye eggs with, which I don’t even know how to do in the first place.  I don’t have a way to make Chris an awesome Easter basket, which his mother always did for him (and there will probably be one waiting for him when we visit at the end of April).

But I think these things are blessings in disguise.  I can’t make frilly and Spring-y Easter for the both of us, but that will force us to focus on the religion of the holiday.  We’ve got our Lutheran Book of Worship here and bible (even if it is the wrong version) so I think we’ll have our selves a makeshift service and then eat a big meal.

What’s getting me the most though is the meal.  Every year my family has made ham for dinner.  A delicious brown sugar spiral ham.  When I think Easter, I think ham.  But Chris loathes ham.  If there was a stronger word than loathe or abhor, I would use that.  I mean he really, really, hates ham.  What does that leave us with?  Lamb?  I have no idea how to cook lamb, and honestly, lamb doesn’t appeal to me on Easter.  Lamb of God?  Lamb for dinner?  Not so much.  We might make prime rib.  That doesn’t seem very Easter-ish either.  I’m probably going to make green bean casserole, though.  I’d like to make scalloped potatoes but I don’t know how intensive that would be.

I don’t know where that leaves me.  I have a couple weeks to mull over my thoughts before I have to start collecting food for that Sunday.

PS:  RE: Yesterday’s Domestic Goddess Update:  Two Clorox/Lysol wipes make a good makeshift Swiffer Wet Cloth.  Found that out this morning and now my kitchen floor looks better!  Although still not perfect enough for me.

Leave a Reply

