Recipe Sunday

14 Mar

Mmm… the smell of my Grandmother’s Roast Beef is wafting at me from the kitchen.  It’s a secret recipe that I can’t share with you, but I’m excited to be making it again.  I’m starving.  We had a small lunch because both our stomachs were off a bit after last night.  I’m going to make a huge pot of mashed potatoes to go with it and and corn and gravy.  My mouth is watering!

Anyway, I have two recipes for you today.  I should probably save one for a week when I can’t come up with something, but here goes anyway…

Melko’s Chicken Broccoli Divan

I got this one from a girl on my Nest Club Board and she got it off the back of a soup can.  I’m not usually a fan of soup can recipes, but this one was a crowd pleaser!

4 cups cooked broccoli flowerets

1 1/2 cups cubed, cooked chicken

1 can (10.75 oz) condensed cream of chicken soup

1/3 cup milk

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 tablespoons dry bread crumbs

1 tablespoon butter, melted

  • Place chicken and broccoli in bottom of dish, cover with mixture of soup and milk.
  • Top with cheese, cover with breadcrumbs combined with butter.
  • Bake at 450 for 20 minutes.

Chicken Tetrazzini

(I modified this recipe from Betty Crocker)

1 package Angel Hair pasta, broken in half

1/4 cup margarine

1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup milk

2 tablespoons water

2 cups cubed, cooked chicken

1 jar/can (4.5 oz or so) sliced mushrooms, drained

1/2 to 3/4 cups grated Parmesan cheese

  • Cook and drain pasta
  • In large saucepan, melt butter over low heat.  Stir in flour, salt and pepper.  Cook while stirring until it’s smooth and bubbly.
  • Remove from heat, stir in broth and milk.  Reheat to boiling stirring constantly.
  • Remove from heat.  Stir in pasta, water, chicken and mushrooms.
  • Pour mixture into 2 quart casserole and sprinkle with the cheese.
  • Bake at 350 for 30-ish minutes.
Leave a Reply

