Domestic Goddess Update

14 Mar

I suck at being a Domestic Goddess.  I can cook a killer meal for my husband and I can wash the dishes until the sparkle, but it pretty much ends there.

I vacuum on a regular basis, but our “vacuum” is pretty primitive.  And where do all these little bits of things and crumbs come from?  I mean, Mittens spews her litter everywhere (our next litter box will have a splash guard for sure) but these other bits?  We must track them in or something.  Our vacuum has a hard time picking things up unless you hold it as a specific angle.

I use Swiffer Wet Cloths on the floor, but they don’t seem to be doing the trick in the kitchen.  I don’t know where those spots come from but they weren’t there before Mittens and I can’t get them up!  They aren’t gross, they’re just not pleasing to the eye.

Also, I have run out of Swiffer Wet Cloths and I have been to a few different stores on the Island and I can’t find them anywhere!  It took me three weeks to finally find facial moisturizer (I guess they don’t moisturize here?) and now I can’t find these cloths.  I don’t know what I’m going to do if I can’t them.  I have one left and I’m saving it, but I don’t know what good that’s going to do me.

Mini-rant: I want to see if Sawyer’s has them but Chris refuses to drive that far just to go to one store, so we have to wait until we have a bunch of errands to do in that direction.  I don’t think it’s that far at all, so I don’t know what he’s thinking.  We went to CostRite today but Sawyer’s was closed and then I thought we’d try Solomon’s but they’re closed too!  I haven’t checked City Market yet because I don’t usually shop there, but they close early on Sunday’s too!  Why is nothing open on Sunday!?  It drives me absolutely batty.  At least back home stores stay open until 7pm on Sundays.  If it was a weekday I could head over to Target anytime before 11pm!  Mini-rant over.

I have no decorating skill, either.  Well, I don’t know if that’s true actually.  I don’t have the money or supplies to try and put a personal touch in this apartment.  I have a Yankee Candle in the center of the coffee table, but that’s about it.  I ditched the place mats the apartment came with because they were ugly and I’m storing the “centerpiece” the kitchen table had.  Fake roses with a yellow ribbon in the bottom of the vase (looks like dirty water form a distance!) and the roses have fake dew on them, but it’s yellow.  Whoever stocked these apartments could have saved the money on place mats and fake flowers and put it towards something more useful, like some Pyrex.

Also, I can’t keep up with Chris’s clutter.  I thought if I tackled it head on that I could organize this place and make it look nice, but he doesn’t like anyone touching is stuff, especially if it’s electronic and plugs in.  I have been banned from the desk drawers because he claims to have a system, but I can’t figure it out.  I throw stuff in the top drawer anyway.

Mittens adds to the clutter problem.  We have to keep our garbage cans in the closet with the door closed, or she’ll tip them over and drag everything everywhere.  Literally.  I don’t know why it amuses her.  Every morning I find shredded paper towels and tissues all over the living room floor.  Today I found receipts all over the place.  I don’t know how she got those!

Our apartment isn’t disgusting, we don’t live in filth, but it’s really starting to drive me crazy.  Tomorrow after Chris leaves to study I’m going to have to formulate some sort of plan.  We have to move in 45-ish days and I can’t be dealing with this at the last minute.

This is the best I can do. The barrel is made of cardboard and there is no where else to put it. We don't know whose clothes those are on top of it or how we came in possession of them. Everything is dim and tan.

I’m really looking forward to our move to Miami.  The pictures we got of the apartment are very nice.  For one, it has hardwood floors instead of tile and the walls look normal, not concrete at all.  I can’t wait to get in there and organize everything for myself.  Hopefully I can find a Michael’s nearby and get some crafting done and figure out some decorating.  (I also have a secret plan to sell some things on Etsy, but I can’t tell you what!)

Not to mention Target.  I miss Target so, so much.

Leave a Reply

