Picture Friday III

5 Mar

So I’m sitting at my desk at about 12:45 pm today when I hear very loud music.  Then honking.  And sirens.  Quite a commotion, so I had to look out the window to see what was going on, but I saw nothing.  It stopped for a minute then got louder and then… I saw it coming at me…

And then I heard: “If you’re blue and you don’t know where to go, why don’t you go where fashion sits?  Puttin’ on the Ritz.”  Beg pardon?  Why was there a semi driving past the apartment, filled to the brim with youth, with a stereo system blazing Putting on the Ritz?

But it didn’t stop there.  There were four semis I counted and at least a half-dozen to ten pick-up trucks with even more youth spilling out the backs.  There were police cars and police motorcycles with their sirens and lights going.  Make way for the “parade” of youth!

First of all, I didn’t even know there were that many children on this island.  Second of all, there was no signage, so I had no idea what the purpose of this was!  There is no local news on the TV here and I don’t generally have access to the newspapers, so I have no idea what goes on here.  Chris solved the mystery and found out they were on parade because their school won a basketball tournament.

They have basketball tournaments here?  Evidently it was a big deal if they were allowed a parade through the streets in the middle of the day, holding up traffic and such.  Well good for them I guess.

One Response to “Picture Friday III”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Who Doesn’t Love A Parade? « Rosswife's Blog - March 21, 2010

    […] « Country White Bread Who Doesn’t Love A Parade? March 21, 2010 As I mentioned a few weeks ago, there was a rowdy youth parade on the Island.  Here’s the video of it as […]

Leave a Reply

