Mac Casserole

1 Mar

It’s recipe Sunday on Monday.  I was sick yesterday morning (I think it was dehydration) and didn’t get much done as a result.  But anyway, here is a recipe for you that has been a classic in my family for decades.  My mother used to make this when we were kids and it would feed four of us, but as we got older she had to double the recipe in order to have leftovers.  It’s one of my husband’s favorite meals now.  It’s a simple way to dress up plain old pasta and sauce.

2 cups elbow macaroni, cooked

1  140z jar sauce (I use Ragu)

8oz shredded cheddar cheese

2 tblsp butter

1/2 cup breadcrumbs (Mom likes plain, I use Italian)

  1. Spray a 2 quart casserole dish with Pam
  2. Layer 1/2 mac, 1/2 sauce, and 1/2 cheese.  Repeat.
  3. Melt butter, mix with breadcrumbs.  Spread on top of casserole
  4. Bake at 325 for 25 minutes, uncovered.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

