This Week’s Menu

24 Feb

Let’s have a lighter topic today: my meal planning.  So far it’s been working fairly well.  Yesterday I wrote out a plan for the upcoming week and we went shopping at Sawyer’s for what I needed.  I think it’s helping to keep our grocery bill down.  The first time we went grocery shopping after I got here, we had a small list and otherwise just picked up things we though we might need.  The result was a horrendous grocery bill over $100.

But last night we went to Sawyer’s (way cheaper and more fresh than City Market) and got out of there for about $70!  I like this coming week’s menu a lot better than last weeks, which I did not post.  It’s got a couple recipes on it from the January 2010 board’s recipe exchange on The Nest.  I’m excited to try and them let the girls who submitted them know how I liked them.

So anyway, here’s the menu:

Wednesday: Hearty Potato and Cheddar Soup with Bacon (from Bertosbride).  I’m really excited to try this soup.  I love a good potato soup and this one has cheddar too!  And bacon!  You can’t go wrong.  I’m not planning on making anything with it, maybe some biscuits.  It sounds like a meal soup.

Thursday: Macaroni Casserole.  Sounds boring, but it’s a favorite.  My mother made this casserole a lot for us when we were growing up and now Chris is addicted to it.  He loves it!  And it’s just so, so easy to put together.

Friday:  Out to dinner with some friends.  Sweet, no dishes to wash!

Saturday:  Chicken Broccoli Divan (from Melko).  I’m not sure what Divan is, it pretty much looks like a casserole to me.  You’ve got some broccoli, some chicken, some condensed soup, you put it all together and viola.  I’m not such a huge broccoli fan, so we’ll see how this one goes.

Sunday:  Grandma’s Roast Beef.  Enough said.

Monday:  Mac & Cheese.  This is a recipe I got from the Betty Crocker cookbook.  I’ve never had such great homemade mac and cheese.  It’s better than Stouffer’s and Chris said it was the best he’d ever had.  So that’s a huge accomplishment on my part.

And that’s where my menu ends, until next Sunday or Monday when I put together another one and do it all over again.

Leave a Reply

