Prescriptions outside of the U.S..

28 Jan

Before I left the United States (oh how I miss thee) it seemed fairly obvious to get my prescriptions in order so I wouldn’t have to deal with the local pharmacies.  It is not that I thought (suspected or knew) that local pharmacies were terrible, I just thought it would be easier to have it all together before I left.  But with only one whole day between the wedding and us leaving the states, and hectic state of the weeks before the wedding, it didn’t really happen.  All I managed to get together was three sample packs of Yaz from my gynecologist and a prescription one of the Ross professors can rewrite that I can get filled here.

So this morning my lack of preparedness blew up in my face.  I developed an unfortunate UTI while on the Honeymoon and rather than it going away on its own like I had futilely hoped, it got worse.  So off we went to the doctor recommended by the school.  In the U.S. when I get a UTI the run a urine test and in twenty minutes I’m out of there with a prescription for an antibiotic.  Not so much here.  We spent well over an hour at the doctor waiting for them to get the results and figure out what to do with them.  I got my prescription for Cipro and in a week I should be better “down there.”

But that is not the part that blew up in the face.  I have terrible eczema so I use a 2.5% hydrocortisone mixed in with Cetaphil.  In the U.S. they mix it all together in a compound for me so all I have to do is put the lotion on.  The doctor copied the prescription directly from the bottle I brought from home, but when we took it to the pharmacy they couldn’t understand that they should mix it together for me.  I guess they don’t issue compounds in the Bahamas.  I ended up leaving with a small bottle of 2.5% hydrocortisone straight up and a $23 dollar bottle of Cetaphil.  Lord knows what I’m going to do with it.  I didn’t go to pharmacy school and I don’t know how to make a compound.  I don’t even know what they put in the lotion back home; it could be a powder for all I know!

I’m very frustrated and will be googling “How to make a compound” later.  I’m sure I won’t unearth anything helpful.  I honestly don’t understand why the pharmacy here didn’t know what to do.

The moral of the story is this:  if you’re on any prescriptions other than something very simple, fight with your doctors and local pharmacy before you leave and make sure that you have all you need for your trip before you leave.  What they gave me won’t last me the next three months and I’m dreading having to go try to get another refill before I leave.

In an unrelated story: stay tuned tomorrow for some exciting news!

One Response to “Prescriptions outside of the U.S..”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You don’t know what itchy is. « Rosswife's Blog - August 16, 2010

    […] you remember, when I was in the Bahamas I thought I needed a refill.  Turns out it could have waited, but because the pharmacy there was primitive, or something, they […]

Leave a Reply

