Menu Planning

26 Jan

A huge part of my quest to be a domestic goddess is food.  I made Chris roast beef a couple days ago using my Grandmother’s recipe.  It was my first attempt at making such a big meal and I’m proud of myself for accomplishing it.  It turned out delicious and Chris said he was glad he married me.  It warmed me to the core.

I’ve now decided that roast beef was just the beginning.  We’re going grocery shopping when Chris gets out of his last meeting late this afternoon, so I sat down with the cookbook I got at my bridal shower and I came up with meals through Sunday.  I then wrote out a grocery list of what we would need for these meals that we didn’t already have in stock – wow!  I’m hoping this isn’t going turn out as expensive as it looks.  Food here on the Island is much more expensive than food in the U.S..

So here is our menu:

Tuesday: Burgers from a local joint because we won’t be getting home until late

Wednesday: Corn Chowder and fresh salad.  The soup also has potatoes in it and sounds very hearty, so I decided to pair with just a fresh lettuce salad.

Thursday: Cheesy Chicken Strips and a fresh vegetable.  I found this in the “20 minutes and under” section of the cookbook.  It’s made similar to the onion chicken I used to make in college, which I’ll probably make next week if we can find French’s Onions on the island.  I think green beans will go nicely with this.

Friday: Fettuccine Alfredo and French Bread.  I’m a sucker for Alfredo, even though I’m lactose intolerant.  I had a recipe I used to make with my father about five years ago, but it was too rich even for the strongest of stomachs.  This recipe is a little different so I’m going to give it a try.  I also found a recipe for French Bread.  Making bread used to seem daunting to me, but the recipe in the book is so straightforward that I thought I would give it a try.  It’s  lot of starch and carb in one meal, which is not ideal, but the combination sounds delicious.  Sometimes you have to choose delicious over healthy.  But only sometimes.

Saturday: DATE NIGHT!  I want to go to Pollo Tropical, but we’ll see where the tropical breezes blow us.

Sunday: Fajitas and Rice Pilaf.  I love fajitas and they’re not bad for you if you grill them.  I’m also a sucker for a good rice pilaf, so I was happy to find a recipe in the book.  With some fresh guacamole and sour cream, this meal is going to be great.

Leave a Reply

